

### **Doug Oswald**

The Doug Oswald Seniors Tournament is named for a man who has given unselfishly of his time and energy to the Ocala Municipal Golf Course and the entire community during the period of Marion County's most rapid growth. From 1963-1975 he served untiringly as a member of the City of Ocala Golf board, enthusiastically promoting the interest of the golfing community and even managing the golf course during a two-month emergency.

Doug Oswald was honored as the Outstanding Man in Florida Agriculture in 1970, Chairman of the Committee of 100 in 1971 and later served on that Executive Committee. He was president of the Ocala-Marion Chamber of Commerce in 1964-65 and Kiwanis Club president in 1961.

As President of the Sun Banks of Marion County he continued to be active in the First United Methodist Church and promoted 4-H clubs and agriculture interests in the community. In January 1976 he was inaugurated Mayor of the City of Ocala.

Lending weight to his sensible and soft-spoken opinions on community policy and development are his varied interests. As a member of the board of trustees of the Appleton Museum and its first chairman, Doug Oswald was a driving force in the Museum's creation.

He served for many years as President and Gen. Manager of the Southeastern Livestock Assoc. and operated the Southeastern facilities for all kinds of livestock shows and sales, including the steer show. In 2004 he was elected to the Marion County Hall of Fame.

A native of Marianna, Florida, he served three years in the U.S. Army including a World War II tour of duty in Europe. He was a member of the "Golden Era" football team at the University of Florida where he received his B.S. degree in Agriculture in 1949.

#### **Tournament Champions**

1976 – Dr. Karl T. Humes, Bushnell, Florida	1992 – Don Norbury, Ocala, Florida	2008 - Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida
1977 – Dr. John D. Lindner, Ocala, Florida	1993 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	2009 – Brian S. Brown, Inverness, Florida
1978 – Dr. Karl T. Humes, Bushnell, Florida	1994 – Jerry Tarnow, Port Orange, Florida	2010 – Berger Warner, Ocala, Florida
1979 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	1995 – Bill Bailey, South Daytona, Florida	2011 – Bill Zylstra, Ocklawaha, Florida
1980 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	1996 – Ron LeClair, Fern Park, Florida	2012 – Berger Warner, Ocala, Florida
1981 – Fred Davis, Ocala, Florida	1997 – Curt Madson, Mount Dora, Florida	2013 – Doug Snoap, Apopka, Florida
1982 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	1998 – Mickey Gallagher, Groton, New York	2014 – Doug Snoap, Apopka, Florida
1983 – Bill Nuetzel, Gainesville, Florida	1999 – John Ward, Winter Park, Florida	2015 – Tim Hume, Crystal River, Florida
1984 – Fred Davis, Ocala, Florida	2000 – Curt Madson, Mount Dora, Florida	2016 – Richard Weber, Orlando, Florida
1985 – Jack Shubert, Altamonte Spgs, Florida	2001 – Berger Warner, Ocala, Florida	2017 – Lloyd Fisher, Ocala, Florida
1986 – Jack Shubert, Altamonte Spgs, Florida	2002 – Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida	2018 – Steve Humphrey, Ocala, Florida
1987 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	2003 – Mark Puskarich, Orlando, Florida	2019 – Daniel Owen, Ocala, Florida
1988 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	2004 - Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida	2020 - Drew Ditty, Ocala, Florida
1989 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	2005 – Warren Wilhite, Palatka, Florida	2021 – Dave McMeen, Wesley Chapel, Florida
1990 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	2006 - Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida	2022 - Tommy Lowe, Ocala, Florida
1991 – Bo Williams, Ocala, Florida	2007 - Dr. Jim Carley, Ormond Beach, Florida	

#### **Super – Senior Champions**

2010 – Ron Russo, Ocala, Florida	2015 – Larry Vander Bie, Brooksville, Florida	2
2012 - Brian Sachs, Newberry, Florida	2016 – Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida	2
2013 – Randy Briggs, Ocala, Florida	2017 – Berger Warner, Ocala, Florida	2
2014 Pargar Warner Ocale Florida	2019 Dr. Dobort Hoss Cossolborry Florida	2

2019 – Kevin Macy, Tampa, Florida 2020 – Robert Parmar, Fairhope, Alabama 2021 – Kevin Macy, Tampa, Florida

2014 – Berger Warner, Ocala, Florida 2018 – Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida

– Dr. Robert Hess, Casselberry, Florida 2022 – Walter Himelsbaugh, Leesburg, Florida

## **48th Annual Doug Oswald Seniors Tournament**

Senior Division 50 – 64 Super Senior Division 65 – 74 **Legends Division 75 & Up** 

# Sat, Oct 21<sup>st</sup> & Sun, Oct 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2023 Ocala Golf Club

Champion - \$650.00 merchandise & trophy
Super Senior Champion - \$600.00 merchandise & trophy
Legends Champion - \$400.00 merchandise & trophy
5 places paid in each 16-man flight.

Dinner for Player & Guest – Saturday Night @ 6:30 PM

**Entry Fee \$150.00 (cart included)** 

Mail Entry Form (below) & Check Payable To: Doug Oswald Seniors

PO Box 1943

Ocala, Florida 34478

You can also sign up & pay through Ocala Golf Club webstore Click on 48<sup>th</sup> Annual Oswald

https://www.ocalagolfclub.com/store

All Online Entrants – Be sure to INCLUDE your AGE, so we can put you in the correct division.

For Questions Call or Email Jim Williams (352) 817-4172 or <a href="mailto:ocalajw3@gmail.com">ocalajw3@gmail.com</a>

Date	Birthdate/_			
Name				
Address				
City	State _	Zip	Code	
Phone	Ema	il		
Home Club			Handicap Index _	
Division of Competitior	ı (check one)	□ Senior	□ Super-Senior	□ Legend